Race Equality Awards 2016 - Winners and Finalists

white background with 10 anniversary roundel

The awards ceremony, hosted by ITV News presenter Charlene White, took place on the 11th October 2016 at the Hilton Park Lane and was attended by more than 500 business leaders. Now in their 10th year, the Awards celebrate outstanding practice, innovation, and dedication to race equality and inclusion in UK workplaces.

Sandra Kerr OBE, Race Equality Director, Business in the Community, said: “Congratulations to all the winning organisations at the Business in the Community Race Equality Awards 2016. They have shown that they are ensuring BAME employees are represented at all levels within their organisation, developing the diverse talent they attract and strengthening the pipeline for the future. All the winners and finalists should be incredibly proud of their achievement, and I hope other employers will follow their lead.”

Our research and insight have informed many of the awards categories over the years and this year a new category, Race Equality Role Model Award has been introduced as a direct result of a key finding of the Race at Work survey.   Our 10th-anniversary document is a collation of best practice and innovative initiatives that will help business have an impact on and receive the benefit from action on race equality.





Click the organisation name to enjoy a multimedia presentation and learn more about their commitment to race equality and inclusion.

Champion & Executive Sponsor Award

Private sector 
Winner:  Murray Raisbeck, KPMG
Finalists: BNY Mellon; HarperCollins; Mitie

Public sector
Kevin Cunnington, Department of Work & Pensions
Royal Air Force


Developing Talent Award 
Winner: MAMA Youth Project
American ExpressCivil Service;
Imperial College


Employee Network Award

Private Sector
Winner: HarperCollins
AIG; Enterprise Rent-a-Car
PwCJ.P. Morgan

Public Sector
Winner: BBC
Highly commended: Network Rail
Finalist: Ministry of Defence 


Future Workforce Award
Winner: Teachfirst
Highly commended:
Reach Society

ArmySheffield Hallam UniversityShell

Inclusive Workplace Award
Winner:  St Mungos
EYMott MacDonald; National Crime Agency 


Recruiting Diverse Talent Award

Sponsored by: 

Private Sector
Winner: Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
Finalist: Hogan Lovells


Public Sector 
Winner: Royal Airforce
Highly commended: Rare Civil Service partnership
Cheshire ConstabularyLeicestershire Police;
Rare/Police Now partnership;

Role Models in the Workplace Award 

Large organisation
Winner: Indi Hothi, EY

DeloitteEnterprise Rent-a-Car 

Small organisation
Winner: Josh Oware, Rare
Highly commended:  St Mungos